AP1: Platform and Ecosystem Governance

The governance of platform-based service marketplaces is a new research field of business informatics (Manner 2014). Successful platform-based service marketplaces such as the Apple App Store have revolutionized the way of IT service provision and led to a significant competitive advantage for their providers. Through the integration of external developers they not only foster innovations, but also provide a rich portfolio of mobile services. Therefore, also other industries like the automotive industry investigate their potential.

The ecosystem of platform-based service marketplaces is highly dynamic, which requires high competencies of the marketplace providers regarding governance to ensure continuous success. Despite the relevance of platform-based service marketplaces, due to their novelty, dynamicity and interdisciplinarity as a sociotechnical phenomenon only few empirical results are available. Furthermore, there doesn’t exist a generally accepted theoretical basis regarding their governance. A general challenge for the platform operator is on the one hand to keep sufficient control to secure the integrity of the platform and on the other hand to give off enough control to enable innovation through the developers of the platform modules (Tiwana et al. 2010, 683).

Examples for practice-related questions are possibilities of co-determination and mediation between end user, third-party developers and platform operators (e.g. developer community, user feedback and partner feedback) as well as a methodology and a catalogue of measures in order to systematically increase the confidence of relevant stakeholders (third-party developers and public institutions) in the platform.

AP1: Plattform und Ökosystem Governance

Die Steuerung plattformbasierter Servicemarktplätze ist ein neues Forschungsgebiet der Wirtschaftsinformatik (Manner 2014). Erfolgreiche plattformbasierte Servicemarktplätze wie Apples App Store haben die Art und Weise der IT-Servicebereitstellung revolutioniert und wurden zu einem zentralen Wettbewerbsvorteil für deren Anbieter. Durch die Integration externer Entwickler ermöglichen sie nicht nur Innovationen, sondern auch das Bereitstellen eines großen Angebots an mobilen Services. Daher untersuchen auch andere Industrien wie die Automobilindustrie deren Potenzial.

Das Ökosystem von plattformbasierten Servicemarktplätzen zeichnet sich durch eine hohe Dynamik aus, die hohe Anforderungen an den Marktplatzanbieter in Bezug auf die Steuerung und damit den kontinuierlichen Erfolg stellt. Trotz der Relevanz plattformbasierter Servicemarktplätze sind aufgrund ihrer Neuheit, Dynamik und Interdisziplinarität als soziotechnisches Phänomen kaum empirische Ergebnisse vorhanden. Weiterhin existiert keine allgemein anerkannte Theoriebasis bezüglich ihrer Steuerung. Eine zentrale Herausforderung ist, dass der Plattformbetreiber einerseits ausreichende Kontrolle behalten muss, um die Integrität der Plattform zu sichern, andererseits aber genügend Kontrolle abgeben muss, um Innovationen durch die Entwickler der Plattformmodule zu ermöglichen (Tiwana et al. 2010, 683).

Beispiele für praxisrelevante Fragestellungen sind die Möglichkeiten der Mitsprache und Vermittlung zwischen Endnutzer, Drittentwickler sowie Plattformbetreiber (z.B. Entwickler Community, Benutzer-Feedback und Partner-Feedback) sowie eine Methodik und ein Maßnahmenkatalog, um das Vertrauen von relevanten Interessensgruppen (Drittentwickler und öffentlichen Institutionen) in die Plattform systematisch zu erhöhen.