AP2: Platform requirements, business models and value chains

Besides the well-known, successful examples for service- and content platforms (Amazon Marketplace, Apple Store, Google Play), worldwide there exist platform initiatives with very different value propositions and business models which are more or less successful (Smedlund 2012).

There is a high demand for research to systematize and analyze these business models and platform types in order to be able to deduce methodically and structured the demands on business models, technical architectures, technical components, management processes, interfaces, contract design and the tool support of a platform. Furthermore, there exists little secured knowledge about the necessary and beneficial metrics and measures regarding quality management and partner management.

For the construction and maintenance of this ecosystem, new partners and services have to be added in a structured process (onboarding) and after terminating the use of the platform, they have to be safely removed from the ecosystem (offboarding). These two processes comprise complex and often error-prone technical, organizational, juridical and financial sub-processes, which are difficult to be modeled and automatized using state-of-the art technology and theory. This situation leads to high personal expenses and quality problems during service operations. It needs to be researched, how to improve these processes significantly as it has been achieved in the sectors of cloud computing and next-generation datacenters.

A practice-proven and innovative mechanism to maximize the attractiveness of a platform for relevant user groups is to integrate the end users through suitable crowd sourcing- and crowd innovation processes in the further development of the platform, in the development and design of individual services and in the creation, structuring and valuation of user generated content. These processes include interviews, games, competitions, hackathons, but also thematic-centered incubators. The project will research, if and which of these measures are in principle and practical suitable for mobility services in Germany, and if and how these communities can be developed systematically.

Developer tools and libraries support service developers to conceive, implement, test, commission, operate and troubleshoot their software-based services. Today, these tools focus on experienced programmers and require a considerable training effort, so that developers typically concentrate on only one platform.

Graphical tools simplify the integration of existing services. Using so-called mashup tools developers can interactively model data and control flows between components on the basis of prefabricated building blocks, rules and templates. The project will address unsolved questions regarding the modeling of transactions, processes and more complex interaction schemes, and their solutions will be integrated according to the platform specifications.

TP2.1: API Economy and API Ecosystems
TP2.2: Crowd Sourcing and Crowd Innovation
TP2.3: Service Mashups and Developer Support
TP2.4: Business Models of Platform Providers

AP2: Plattform-Anforderungen, Geschäftsmodelle, Wertschöpfungsketten

Neben den bekannten erfolgreichen Beispielen für Service- und Content-Plattformen (Amazon Marketplace, Apple Store, Google Play) gibt es weltweit eine Vielzahl von sehr unterschiedlichen mehr oder weniger erfolgreichen Plattform-Initiativen mit sehr unterschiedlichen Nutzenversprechen und Geschäftsmodellen (Smedlund 2012).

Es besteht ein hoher Forschungsbedarf, diese Ertragsmodelle und Plattformtypen zu systematisieren und zu analysieren, um methodisch und strukturiert Anforderungen an die Geschäftsmodelle, die technische Architektur, die technischen Komponenten, die Management-Prozesse, Schnittstellen, Vertragsgestaltung und den Tool-Support einer Plattform ableiten zu können. Weiterhin existiert noch kaum gesichertes Wissen über die notwendigen und förderlichen Metriken und Maßnahmen bezüglich Qualitätsmanagement und Partnermanagement.

Für den Aufbau und den Erhalt dieses Ökosystems müssen neue Partner und Services in einen strukturierten Prozess hinzugefügt (Onboarding) und nach Beendigung der Nutzung der Plattform wieder sicher aus dem Ökosystem entfernt werden (Offboarding). Diese beiden Prozesse umfassen teilweise komplexe und fehleranfällige technische, organisatorische, juristische und finanzielle Teil-Prozesse, die sich nach dem heutigen Stand der Technik und Wissenschaft nur schwer präzise modellieren und automatisieren lassen. Dies führt zu hohen personellen Aufwänden und Qualitätsproblemen im Produktivbetrieb. Es ist zu erforschen, inwiefern hier signifikante Fortschritte wie im Bereich des Cloud Computing und der NextGeneration Datacenter möglich sind.

Ein in der Praxis zunehmend eingesetzter innovativer Mechanismus, um die Attraktivität einer Plattform für relevante Nutzer- und Interessensgruppen zu maximieren, besteht darin, die Endanwender durch geeignete Crowdsourcing- und Crowdinnovation-Prozesse in die Weiterentwicklung der Plattform, die Entwicklung und Gestaltung individueller Dienste, und in die Erstellung, Strukturierung und Bewertung von benutzergenerierten Inhalten einzubinden. Diese Prozesse umfassen Befragungen, Spiele, Wettbewerbe, Hackathons aber auch themenspezifische Inkubatoren. Hier ist zu untersuchen, ob und welche dieser Maßnahmen für Mobilitätsdienste in Deutschland prinzipiell und praktisch geeignet sind, und ob und wie sich solche Communities systematisch entwickeln lassen.

Entwicklerwerkzeuge und Bibliotheken unterstützen Dienstentwickler bei der Konzeption, Implementierung, Test, Inbetriebnahme, Betrieb und bei der Fehlerbeseitigung ihrer softwarebasierten Dienste. Diese Werkzeuge richten sich gegenwärtig an erfahrene Programmierer und erfordern einen erheblichen Einarbeitungsaufwand, so dass Entwickler sich typischerweise auf eine Plattform spezialisieren.

Für die vereinfachte Integration von bestehenden Diensten bieten sich grafische Werkzeuge an. Diese sogenannten Mashup-Tools erlauben die interaktive Modellierung von Daten- und Kontrollflüssen zwischen Komponenten auf der Basis von vorgegebenen Bausteinen, Regeln und Vorlagen. Ungelöst sind noch Fragen der Modellierung von Transaktionen, Prozessen und komplexere Interaktionsschemata, die entsprechend der Plattformvorgaben integriert werden.

TP2.1: Partner On- und Off-Boarding
TP2.2: Crowdsourcing und Crowdinnovation
TP2.3: Service Mashups Entwicklungs- unterstützung
TP2.4: Geschäftsmodelle Plattformanbieter