TP3.3: Visual Service-Management Control Panel



The subproject TP3.3 is the continuation of subproject TP3.2. Whereas TP3.2 deals with the challenges how to monitor the multi-level architecture of the open mobility platform, TP3.3 focuses more on the visualization of the distributed architecture and of the extracted monitoring data. The goal of the subproject TP3.3 is to design and to develop a visual control panel for the integrated monitoring. The visual control panel will provide variety of information about the static architecture of the mobility platform, the service dependencies, the transaction flow and the business processes that are running on top of the services. Furthermore, the visualization tool provide metrics about the hardware, application performance, business activities and user related KPIs.

“Business Continuity” is one of the critical success factors for the service operator. In order to be able to ensure this, it is required to monitor the availability of the provided services continuously. Because of the diversity of the provided services and the variety of potential control panel user groups, the subproject requires flexible, expendable, target group-specific and configurable data views. Furthermore, the data on technical availability has to be integrated with the transactional business data in order to be able to draw conclusions of the users’ behavior in terms of business performance. Currently, no consistent modelling approaches exists for the presentation and integration of such monitoring data.


Figure 1: Realtime Platform Architecture Visualization

Figure 2: Log data Visualization

Monitoring data is described in several formats that represents the instrumented architecture in different ways. Hardware metrics are described in key – value pairs whereas the timestamp will be mostly used as the key and the sensor data like CPU utilization, memory bandwith, idle time etc. are the values of these keys. Log data is stored in a semistructured format, like json or xml. These kind of representation describes the behavior of the architecture and is suitable for analyse errors that occure. The communication behavior between services and their dependencies depicts the architecture in a graph-based way with nodes as the services and edges as the dependencies between the services. The execution sequence of business activities that covers a business process describes the data flow also in a graph-based way. A lot of these mentioned monitoring data require a particular visual representation. Depending on the type of data, some visualizations might be more suitable to support human understanding of the results and, ultimately, decision making as a response to the observed system behavior.

The difficulty here is how to combine the several visualization types in an understandable and meaningful way, covering the static architecture of the platform and the dynamic behavior. Especially in the investigation of the root cause of failures or the impact of failures, there exists no suitable visual representation that supports the analysis process in this context. This leads to the implementation of plenty of different dashboards, view switches and time-consuming searches. Within the research of TP3.3 we want to solve this problem.

Literature

Kleehaus, M.; Uludağ, Ö.; Matthes, F.: Towards a Multi-Layer IT Infrastructure Monitoring Approach based on Enterprise Architecture Information, 2nd Workshop on Continuous Software Engineering: SE, Hannover, 2017
Landthaler, J.; Kleehaus, M.; Matthes, F.: Multi-level Event And Anomaly Correlation Based on Enterprise Architecture Information, 12th International Workshop on Enterprise & Organizational Modeling and Simulation: EOMAS, Ljubljana, Slovenia, 2016

Thesis

Daniel Hoyos: Interactive Visualizations for supporting the Analysis of Distributed Services utilization in the context of Business Processes

TP3.3: Visuelller Service-Management Leitstand



Das Teilprojekt TP3.3 ist die konsequente Fortführung des Teilprojekts TP3.2. Wohingegen TP3.2 die Herausforderung behandelt, wie eine geeignete Instrumentierung der offenen Möbilitätsplatform konzeptionel und prototypisch entwickelt werden kann, beschäftitgt sich TP3.3 mit der Visualisierung der Monitoring Daten und der Architektur der Platform. Das Ziel ist die Konzeption und prototypische Entwicklung eines visuellen Leitstands für das übergreifende Monitoring der auf der Mobilitätsplattform angebotenen Dienste und den notwendigen Geschäftsprozessen. Der visuelle Leitstand stellt Informationen bereit, die den Betrieb der Mobilitätsplattform sicherstellen und darüber hinaus die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette unterstützen.

Für den Betreiber der Mobilitätsplattform zählt die „Business Continuity“ zu den kritischen Erfolgsfaktoren. Um diese gewährleisten zu können, ist es erforderlich die Verfügbarkeit der angebotenen Dienste kontinuierlich zu überwachen. Aufgrund der Diversität der angebotenen Dienste sowie der Vielzahl potentieller Leitstands‐Nutzergruppen werden flexibel erweiterbare, zielgruppenspezifische und zur Laufzeit konfigurierbare Ansätze benötigt. Außerdem müssen die technischen Verfügbarkeitsdaten mit den transaktionalen Geschäftsdaten integriert werden können um Rückschlüsse aus dem Nutzerverhalten hinsichtlich der Performanz von Diensten ziehen zu können. Einheitliche Modellierungsansätze zur übergreifenden Darstellung und Integration dieser Daten existieren derzeit nicht.

Für die technische Ausstattung der Mobilitätsplattform mit Rechen‐ und Speicherkapazität ist eine Planung des Bedarfs notwendig. Diese Planung kann kurz‐ und mittelfristig durch den visuellen Leitstand unterstützt werden indem die konkreten Nutzungsdaten auf Serviceebene aggregiert und in die Zukunft prognostiziert werden.

Abbildung 1: Realtime Platform Architecture Visualization

Abbildung 2: Log data Visualization

Monitoring Daten besitzen verschiedene Formate und beschreiben die instrumentierte Architektur in unterschiedlicher Art und Weise. Hardware Metriken sind bspw. in Key – Value Paare dargestellt, wobei der Zeitstempel als Schlüssel verwendet wird und die Sensordaten wie CPU Auslastung, Speicherauslastung oder Leserate als Werte. Logdaten werden in semistrukturierter Form gespeichert, bspw. in JSON oder XML Notation. Logdateien beschreiben das Verhalten der Applikation und werden insbesondere für die Fehleranalyse genutzt. Das Kommunikationsverhalten der Services und deren Abhängigkeiten untereinander können gut in Graphen visuell dargestellt werden. Die Knoten der Graphen stellen hierbei die Services dar und die Kanten die Kommunikationsbeziehung. Unidirektionale Kommunikation beschreibt einen einseitigen Datenaustausch. Bidirektionale Kommunikation eine beidseitige. Die Ausführungsreihenfolge von Geschäftsaktivitäten die einen Geschäftsprozess darstellen, beschreiben den Datenfluss ebenfalls in Form eines bidirektionalen Graphen.

Viele der angesprochenenen Montoring Daten benötigen eine spezielle visuelle Repräsentierung. Abhängig vom Datenformat und Datenvolumen sind einige Visualisierungen geeigneter um komplexe Zusammenhänge erkennbar zu machen und das Verhalten der IT Architektur besser zu verstehen.

Die Schwierigkeit besteht nun darin, für jede Abstraktionsebene eine geeignete Visualisierung zu finden und diese so zu kombinieren, dass die statische Architektur und das dynamische Verhalten der Architektur erkennbar wird. Das ist insbesondere im Hintergrund von Fehlerursachenanalysen und Impactanalysen ein zentrale Fragestellung, die TP3.3 zu beantworten versucht.

Literatur

Kleehaus, M.; Uludağ, Ö.; Matthes, F.: Towards a Multi-Layer IT Infrastructure Monitoring Approach based on Enterprise Architecture Information, 2nd Workshop on Continuous Software Engineering: SE, Hannover, 2017
Landthaler, J.; Kleehaus, M.; Matthes, F.: Multi-level Event And Anomaly Correlation Based on Enterprise Architecture Information, 12th International Workshop on Enterprise & Organizational Modeling and Simulation: EOMAS, Ljubljana, Slovenia, 2016

Thesis

Daniel Hoyos: Interactive Visualizations for supporting the Analysis of Distributed Services utilization in the context of Business Processes