TP3.5: Proximity Services

Subproject manager
Prof. Dr. Jörg Ott


Proximity services are a form of services, which are not only produced based on the user’s location (like location-based services, LBS), but also based on the relative distance between two or more users or between a user and an object. They can be understood as LBS with a relative frame of reference. The goal of this subproject is to create a technical platform for proximity services and to realize a selection of services based on this platform. We provide decentralized mechanisms (device to device, local infrastructure) for the detection of physical proximity to fulfill the following key attributes: discovers things relevant to you, senses your environment, filters things relevant to you, knows what’s around you and interacts with your surroundings. The challenges in this field are multifaceted. Always-on services like proximity detection require continuous discovery, which drains the battery. This is especially a problem for mobile clients with limited battery power. In addition, user privacy is a challenge because the automatic recognition of nearby users allows continuous location tracking. Besides that, proprietary platforms lead to mobile app silos, which is a major problem for system interoperability.

Managing IoT at the Edge: The Case for BLE Beacons
Managing IoT devices in urban areas is becoming crucial because the majority of people living in cities and the number of deployed IoT devices are steadily increasing. In this paper we present iConfig, an edge-driven platform dedicated to manage IoT devices in smart cities. The goal is to address three major issues in current IoT management: registration, configuration, and maintenance. The core of iConfig is its programmable edge module, which can be deployed across smartphones, wearables, and smart boards to configure and interact with physically proximate IoT devices. Through testbed experiments and usability studies, we reveal the hardship and hidden pitfalls in managing IoT devices, especially for low budget devices like Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) beacons. Our system evaluation shows that iConfig can effectively address the aforementioned IoT management challenges by harnessing the mobile and edge cooperation. To inspire community contributions, we further present concrete use cases to illustrate how iConfig can reduce operational cost and facilitate future edge-centric IoT research.

The key contributions are summarized as follows:
– We analyzed and identified key properties of IoT device management that must be attained to manage large scale deployments in smart cities.
– We designed and implemented iConfig, an edge-driven platform dedicated for IoT device management. We demonstrate the efficacy of iConfig via prototype implementations, which target at BLE beacons without backend connectivity.
– Our usability study and testbed experimentsfurther uncover hidden aspects in IoT management that are important and deserve future research.



Proximity Reasoning via Multimodal Context Fusion
Another prototype aims at close proximity detection of a few meters, where the users or devices share the same content regarding Wi-Fi signals and ambient sound. Figure 1 shows the GUI of our prototype. Initially, a Wi-Fi Direct service broadcasts the device’s available resources regarding CPU and battery. Afterwards, a metric choose one mobile client as temporary server, this device requests the required data from the clients and calculates whether the devices share the same environment. Therefore, each client sends the feature vectors of the Wi-Fi signals including received signal strength. Moreover, the device records ambient sound at a specific frequency and calculates locally sound vectors before releasing them to the temporary server to preserve user privacy. Finally, the users can send messages between group members. The groups are automatically generated by reasoning based on sensor data, which reflects the current device environment.

Connected Mobility Ecosystem Explorer
Figure 1: Proximity Detector


Enabling Practical Distance-bounding IoT Services via Visible Light Communication
Enforcing distance boundary is a highly desired attribute for various Internet of Things (IoT) services due to the compelling concern on security and privacy in smart homes and buildings where IoT devices will be deployed in a pervasive manner. In theory, such distance boundary could be achieved by combining dedicated system design and communication technologies. Yet, in practice, we rarely find IoT services that can fully benefit from this safeguard feature. This is mainly due to the complexity of exploiting various wireless communication technologies to attain distance limit in different IoT environments.

We present LocalVLC, a ready-to-deploy platform that takes advantage of visible light communication (VLC) to reinforce spatial barrier control on IoT services. Different from radio-based design which entails barrier penetration and computation overhead to determine distance-bounding threshold, LocalVLC introduces a lightweight Morse data encoding adjusted for VLC to deliver fine-grained and low-cost distance boundary control. To demonstrate the practicality of LocalVLC, we have implemented a full-fledged platform prototype and evaluated it against multiple demanding scenarios in our testbed. We find thatLocalVLC can support up to 10 meters of range under a single light source, and attain reasonable throughput and error rate in practical settings. We further developed three LocalVLC-based service prototypes, including distance-bounding authorization, indoor communication hub, and localized service discovery to illustrate how we can utilize LocalVLC to enable secure and flexible distance-bounding IoT services.

To summarize, our work makes the following contributions:
– We investigate VLC for distance-bounding services by taking advantage of its unique property of distance restricted communication path. In contrast, mid-range radio-based communications are only able to fulfill the same requirement by adding overhead to estimate a distance boundary threshold.
– We present LocalVLC, a ready-to-deploy platform that takes advantage of VLC to reinforce spatial barrier control on IoT services. LocalVLC introduces a lightweight Morse data encoding to achieve a fine-grained and low-cost distance boundary control.
– We have implemented three service prototypes, including distance-bounding authorization for smart homes, indoor communication hub, and localized service discovery. Those exemplary services demonstrate how we can utilize LocalVLC to enable secure and flexible distance-bounding IoT services.


openVLC
Figure 2: openVLC platform with omnidirectional LED for transmission and low power LED which can be used as transmitter or receiver. The photodiode acting as receiver is highlighted in red.


MorseCode
Figure 3: International Morse code, the circle refers to a dot and the rectangle represents a dash


MorseProcessing
Figure 4: Process a raw light signal to recognize letters, words, and messages


Please contact Prof. Dr. Jörg Ott or Michael Haus, if you would like to get more information about this subproject, our work in general or if you are interested in a cooperation to develop proximitx-based services. Motivated students who are looking for a thesis or a guided research in this field are always invited to contact us as well.

Own Publications
[1] Michael Haus, Aaron Yi Ding, Chenren Xu, Jörg Ott, Demo: Touchless Wireless Authentication via LocalVLC, Proceedings of the 16th ACM International Conference on Mobile Systems, Applications, and Services (MobiSys), 2018
[2] Michael Haus, Aaron Yi Ding, Pan Hui, Jörg Ott, Demo: iConfig: What I See Is What I Configure, 12th Workshop on Challenged Networks (CHANTS), MobiCom Konferenz, 2017
[3] Michael Haus, Aaron Yi Ding, Jörg Ott, Managing IoT at the Edge: The Case for BLE Beacons, 3rd Workshop on Experiences with the Design and Implementation of Smart Objects, MobiCom Konferenz, 2017
[4] Sasan Amini, Kristian Beckers, Markus Böhm, Fritz Busch, Nihan Celikkaya, Vittorio Cozzolino, Anne Faber, Michael Haus, Dominik Huth. Alfons Kemper, Andreas Kipf, Helmut Krcmar, Florian Matthes, Jörg Ott, Christian Prehofer, Alexander Pretschner, Ömer Uludağ, Wolfgang Wörndl, Informatikforschung für digitale Mobilitätsplattformen: Am Beispiel des TUM Living Lab Connected MobilityInformatik-Spektrum, 2017
[5] Michael Haus, Muhammad Waqas, Aaron Yi Ding, Yong Li, Sasu Tarkoma, Jörg Ott, Security and Privacy in Device-to-Device (D2D) Communication: A Review, IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials, 2017
[6] Michael Haus, Vittorio Cozzolino, Aaron Yi Ding, Jörg Ott, P2Hub Private Personal Data Hub for Mobile Devices: Poster, 17th ACM International Symposium on Mobile Ad Hoc Networking and Computing (MobiHoc), 2016
[7] Michael Haus, System approach towards private proximity services, ACM International Joint Conference on Pervasive and Ubiquitous Computing (UbiComp), 2016

TP3.5: Proximity Services

Teilprojektleitung
Prof. Dr. Jörg Ott


Proximity Services sind eine Form von Diensten, die nicht nur nach dem Standort des Nutzers (wie Location Based Services, LBS), sondern auch nach der relativen Entfernung zwischen zwei oder mehr Nutzern oder zwischen einem Nutzer und einem Objekt erstellt werden. Sie können als LBS mit einem relativen Bezugsrahmen verstanden werden. Ziel dieses Teilprojektes ist es, eine technische Plattform für Proximity Services zu schaffen und eine Auswahl von Services auf Basis dieser Plattform zu realisieren. Wir bieten dezentrale Mechanismen (Device to Device, lokale Infrastruktur) zur Erkennung der physischen Nähe, um folgende Schlüsselattribute zu erfüllen: entdeckt Dinge, die für Sie relevant sind, erkennt Ihre Umgebung, filtert Dinge, die für Sie relevant sind, weiß, was um Sie herum ist und interagiert mit Ihrer Umgebung. Die Herausforderungen in diesem Bereich sind vielfältig. Always-on-Dienste wie die Näherungserkennung erfordern eine kontinuierliche Erkennung, die die Batterie entleert. Dies ist vor allem für mobile Clients mit begrenzter Akkuleistung ein Problem. Darüber hinaus ist die Privatsphäre der Benutzer eine Herausforderung, da die automatische Erkennung von Benutzern in der Nähe eine kontinuierliche Standortverfolgung ermöglicht. Darüber hinaus führen proprietäre Plattformen zu mobilen App-Silos, was ein großes Problem für die Interoperabilität der Systeme darstellt.

Managing IoT at the Edge: Der Fall für BLE Beacons
Die Verwaltung von IoT-Geräten in städtischen Gebieten wird immer wichtiger, da die Mehrheit der Menschen in Städten lebt und die Zahl der eingesetzten IoT-Geräte stetig zunimmt. In diesem Papier präsentieren wir iConfig, eine Edge-getriebene Plattform zur Verwaltung von IoT-Geräten in intelligenten Städten. Ziel ist es, drei Hauptthemen des aktuellen IoT-Managements anzugehen: Registrierung, Konfiguration und Wartung. Das Herzstück von iConfig ist das programmierbare Edge-Modul, das über Smartphones, Wearables und Smart Boards zur Konfiguration und Interaktion mit physisch nahen IoT-Geräten eingesetzt werden kann. Durch Testbed-Experimente und Usability-Studien zeigen wir die Schwierigkeiten und versteckten Fallstricke bei der Verwaltung von IoT-Geräten auf, insbesondere für Low-Budget-Geräte wie Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) Beacons. Unsere Systemevaluierung zeigt, dass iConfig die oben genannten IoT-Management-Herausforderungen durch die Nutzung der mobilen und Edge-Kooperation effektiv bewältigen kann. Um die Beiträge der Community zu inspirieren, stellen wir außerdem konkrete Anwendungsbeispiele vor, die zeigen, wie iConfig die Betriebskosten senken und die zukünftige kantenzentrierte IoT-Forschung erleichtern kann.

Die wichtigsten Beiträge sind wie folgt zusammengefasst:
– Wir analysierten und identifizierten die wichtigsten Eigenschaften des IoT-Gerätemanagements, die erreicht werden müssen, um große Implementierungen in intelligenten Städten zu verwalten.
– Wir entwarfen und implementierten iConfig, eine kantengesteuerte Plattform für das IoT-Gerätemanagement. Wir demonstrieren die Wirksamkeit von iConfig anhand von Prototyp-Implementierungen, die auf BLE-Beacons ohne Backend-Konnektivität abzielen.
– Unsere Usability-Studie und unsere Testbed-Experimente decken weiter verborgene Aspekte im IoT-Management auf, die wichtig sind und zukünftige Forschung verdienen.




Proximity Reasoning durch multimodale Kontextfusion
Ein weiterer Prototyp zielt auf eine Nahbereichserkennung von wenigen Metern, bei der die Nutzer oder Geräte den gleichen Inhalt in Bezug auf Wi-Fi-Signale und Umgebungsgeräusche haben. Abbildung 1 zeigt die GUI unseres Prototypen. Zunächst sendet ein Wi-Fi-Direct-Dienst die verfügbaren Ressourcen des Geräts bezüglich CPU und Batterie. Danach wählt eine Metrik einen mobilen Client als temporären Server aus, dieser fordert die benötigten Daten von den Clients an und berechnet, ob sich die Geräte die gleiche Umgebung teilen. Daher sendet jeder Client die Merkmalsvektoren der Wi-Fi-Signale einschließlich der empfangenen Signalstärke. Darüber hinaus zeichnet das Gerät Umgebungsgeräusche mit einer bestimmten Frequenz auf und berechnet lokale Schallvektoren, bevor sie an den temporären Server weitergeleitet werden, um die Privatsphäre des Benutzers zu schützen. Schließlich können die Benutzer Nachrichten zwischen den Gruppenmitgliedern senden. Die Gruppen werden automatisch anhand von Sensordaten generiert, die die aktuelle Geräteumgebung widerspiegeln.

Connected Mobility Ecosystem Explorer
Abbildung 1: Proximity Detector


Praktische abstandsgebundene IoT-Dienste über sichtbare Lichtkommunikation ermöglichen
Die Durchsetzung der Entfernungsgrenze ist ein sehr begehrtes Attribut für verschiedene Internet of Things (IoT)-Dienste aufgrund der zwingenden Sorge um Sicherheit und Privatsphäre in intelligenten Häusern und Gebäuden, in denen IoT-Geräte allgegenwärtig eingesetzt werden. Theoretisch könnte eine solche Abstandsgrenze durch die Kombination von dediziertem Systemdesign und Kommunikationstechnologien erreicht werden. In der Praxis finden wir jedoch nur selten IoT-Dienste, die in vollem Umfang von dieser Schutzfunktion profitieren können. Dies ist vor allem auf die Komplexität der Nutzung verschiedener drahtloser Kommunikationstechnologien zurückzuführen, um in verschiedenen IoT-Umgebungen Entfernungsgrenzen zu erreichen.

Wir präsentieren LocalVLC, eine einsatzbereite Plattform, die die Vorteile der Kommunikation mit sichtbarem Licht (VLC) nutzt, um die Kontrolle der räumlichen Barrieren bei IoT-Diensten zu verstärken. Anders als beim funkbasierten Design, bei dem die Barrieredurchdringung und der Berechnungsaufwand für die Bestimmung der abstandsabhängigen Schwelle anfallen, führt LocalVLC eine leichte Morse-Datenkodierung ein, die für VLC angepasst ist, um eine feinkörnige und kostengünstige Abstandsgrenzkontrolle zu ermöglichen. Um die Praxistauglichkeit von LocalVLC zu demonstrieren, haben wir einen vollwertigen Plattform-Prototypen implementiert und evaluiert. gegen mehrere anspruchsvolle Szenarien in unserem Testbed. Wir finden, dass LocalVLC bis zu 10 Meter Reichweite unter einer einzigen Lichtquelle und erreichen in der Praxis einen angemessenen Durchsatz und eine angemessene Fehlerquote. Wir haben drei auf LocalVLC basierende Service-Prototypen entwickelt, darunter eine entfernungsabhängige Autorisierung, eine Indoor-Kommunikationszentrale und eine lokalisierte Service-Erkennung, um zu veranschaulichen, wie wir LocalVLC nutzen können, um sichere und flexible IoT-Dienste zu ermöglichen.

Zusammenfassend kann man sagen, dass unsere Arbeit folgende Beiträge leistet:
– Wir untersuchen VLC für entfernungsgebundene Dienste, indem wir seine einzigartige Eigenschaft des entfernungsbeschränkten Kommunikationsweges nutzen. Im Gegensatz dazu kann die mittlere Funkkommunikation nur die gleiche Anforderung erfüllen, indem sie den Overhead addiert, um einen Entfernungsgrenzwert abzuschätzen.
– Wir präsentieren LocalVLC, eine einsatzbereite Plattform, die die Vorteile von VLC nutzt, um die Kontrolle der räumlichen Barrieren bei IoT-Diensten zu verstärken. LocalVLC führt eine leichte Morse-Datenkodierung ein, um eine feinkörnige und kostengünstige Abstandsgrenzkontrolle zu erreichen.
– Wir haben drei Service-Prototypen implementiert, darunter eine entfernungsabhängige Autorisierung für Smart Homes, eine Indoor-Kommunikationszentrale und eine lokalisierte Service-Erkennung. Diese beispielhaften Leistungen zeigen, wie wir LocalVLC nutzen können, um sichere und flexible IoT-Dienste zu ermöglichen.


openVLC
Abbildung 2: openVLC-Plattform mit omnidirektionaler LED zur Übertragung und Low-Power-LED, die als Sender oder Empfänger eingesetzt werden kann. Die Fotodiode als Empfänger ist rot markiert.


MorseCode
Abbildung 3: Internationaler Morsecode, der Kreis bezieht sich auf einen Punkt und das Rechteck stellt einen Bindestrich dar.


MorseProcessing
Abbildung 4: Verarbeitung eines Rohlichtsignals zur Erkennung von Buchstaben, Wörtern und Nachrichten


Bitte kontaktieren Sie Prof. Dr. Jörg Ott oder Michael Haus, wenn Sie mehr über dieses Teilprojekt, unsere Arbeit im Allgemeinen oder eine Kooperation zur Entwicklung von proximity-basierten Dienstleistungen erfahren möchten. Motivierte Studenten, die auf der Suche nach einer Diplomarbeit oder einer geführten Forschung auf diesem Gebiet sind, sind immer herzlich eingeladen, mit uns Kontakt aufzunehmen.

Eigene Publikationen:
[1] Michael Haus, Aaron Yi Ding, Chenren Xu, Jörg Ott, Demo: Touchless Wireless Authentication via LocalVLC, Proceedings of the 16th ACM International Conference on Mobile Systems, Applications, and Services (MobiSys), 2018
[2] Michael Haus, Aaron Yi Ding, Pan Hui, Jörg Ott, Demo: iConfig: What I See Is What I Configure, 12th Workshop on Challenged Networks (CHANTS), MobiCom Konferenz, 2017
[3] Michael Haus, Aaron Yi Ding, Jörg Ott, Managing IoT at the Edge: The Case for BLE Beacons, 3rd Workshop on Experiences with the Design and Implementation of Smart Objects, MobiCom Konferenz, 2017
[4] Sasan Amini, Kristian Beckers, Markus Böhm, Fritz Busch, Nihan Celikkaya, Vittorio Cozzolino, Anne Faber, Michael Haus, Dominik Huth. Alfons Kemper, Andreas Kipf, Helmut Krcmar, Florian Matthes, Jörg Ott, Christian Prehofer, Alexander Pretschner, Ömer Uludağ, Wolfgang Wörndl, Informatikforschung für digitale Mobilitätsplattformen: Am Beispiel des TUM Living Lab Connected MobilityInformatik-Spektrum, 2017
[5] Michael Haus, Muhammad Waqas, Aaron Yi Ding, Yong Li, Sasu Tarkoma, Jörg Ott, Security and Privacy in Device-to-Device (D2D) Communication: A Review, IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials, 2017
[6] Michael Haus, Vittorio Cozzolino, Aaron Yi Ding, Jörg Ott, P2Hub Private Personal Data Hub for Mobile Devices: Poster, 17th ACM International Symposium on Mobile Ad Hoc Networking and Computing (MobiHoc), 2016
[7] Michael Haus, System approach towards private proximity services, ACM International Joint Conference on Pervasive and Ubiquitous Computing (UbiComp), 2016