AP4: Use Cases

For the success of a newly established service-platform, it is essential for the platform to provide attractive applications for the intended users and differentiated applications for the competition (use cases of services) from the beginning. In this way, Apple developed central applications for the first iPhone by itself (MP3 player, e-mail, browser, calendar, photo application). For a mobility platform use cases can on the one hand, be low-risk, realized with partner contracts or OEM contracts (to later be replaced by one’s own solutions if necessary, (compare Apple Maps with Google Maps on the iPhone), but on the other hand, innovative and new use cases can initially be provided exclusively, which is desirable for the platform developer. The cooperation with research departments, universities and start-ups provides particular opportunities.

While the public space is already largely digitally charted in the area of indoor maps (museums, malls, underground stations, big passenger hubs, airports, parking garages, office buildings, administration buildings) it still provides a conceptual, obvious extension of the routing planning and guidance concept. So far, this is just rudimentarily implemented because of juridical and technical challenges (problem with the localization, standardization of 3D card formats).

Depending on the platform operator’s business model (advertisement, with costs services, publicly subsidized services, data exchange deals), use cases, in which road users are specifically influenced, have to be examined in order to achieve higher level goals. From a municipal or communal perspective, they are desirable for environment-sensitive traffic management or risk-minimizing traffic management at major events or catastrophes for example.

Similarly it is possible, that companies want to optimize their employees’ business trips, or that tourism associations want to optimize the travel routes of their guests. Together with the juridical and ethical questions, miscellaneous informational problems (transparency of user goals, incentive models, and design of user interfaces) have to be examined as well.

Many of the mobility applications have a collaborative (“social“) aspect: The users are not only individual, passive service users, it is also about the social context – for example with friends, family members and colleagues. In times of the Internet, the individual social room is continuously expanding, so that opinions, references, critics and the conduct of third parties (e.g. Amazon, Apple, app store) have a high influence on one’s own conduct. Therefore, appropriate elements of social media applications (assessments, personalized recommendations, feedback channels, Q&A functions, neighborhood advice) have to be integrated into a preferably consistent form and if necessary across applications.

TP4.1: Models & Tools for Indoor-Maps
TP4.2: Environmentally-Sensitive Traffic Management
TP4.3: Traffic Management on Major Events
TP4.4: Collaborative and Social Mobility Services

AP4: Use Cases

Für den Erfolg einer neu etablierten Service-Plattform ist es essentiell, dass die Plattform von Beginn an für die intendierten Nutzer attraktive und vom Wettbewerb differenzierende Anwendungen (Use Cases der Services) zur Verfügung stellt. So entwickelte Apple zentrale Anwendungen für das erste iPhone selbst (MP3 Player, E-Mail, Browser, Kalender, PhotoAnwendung). Für eine Mobilitätsplattform können einerseits Use Cases über Partnerverträge oder OEM-Verträge risikoarm realisiert werden (um ggf. später durch eigene Lösungen ersetzt zu werden, vgl. Apple Maps und Google Maps auf dem iPhone), anderseits ist es für den Plattformentwickler erstrebenswert, innovative neue Use Cases zunächst exklusiv anbieten zu können. Hier eröffnen sich besondere Chancen durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Forschungsabteilungen, Universitäten und Startups.

Während der öffentliche Raum bereits weitgehend digital kartographiert ist, bieten sich im Bereich der Indoor-Karten (Museen, Einkaufszentren, Untergrundstationen und große Personenverkehrsknoten, Flughäfen, Parkhäuser, Bürogebäude, Verwaltungsgebäude) noch eine konzeptuell naheliegende Erweiterung des Konzepts der Routenplanung und Wegführung, die jedoch bisher aufgrund juristischer und technischer Herausforderungen (Schwierigkeit der Ortsbestimmung, Standardisierung von 3D-Kartenformaten) nur ansatzweise umgesetzt ist.

In Abhängigkeit vom Geschäftsmodell des Plattformbetreibers (Werbung, kostenpflichtige Dienste, öffentlich subventionierte Dienste, Daten-Tauschgeschäfte) sind auch Use Cases zu untersuchen, die Verkehrsteilnehmer gezielt beeinflussen, um übergeordnete Ziele zu erreichen. Aus städtischer oder kommunaler Sicht sind zum Beispiel ein umweltsensitives Verkehrsmanagement oder ein risikominimierendes Verkehrsmanagement bei Großereignissen oder Katastrophen wünschenswert.

Analog ist es denkbar, dass Unternehmen die Dienstreisen ihrer Mitarbeiter optimieren möchten, oder Tourismusverbände die Reiserouten ihrer Gäste. Gemeinsam mit juristischen und ethischen Fragen sind dabei auch diverse informatische Probleme (Transparenz der Ziele für den Nutzer, Anreizmodelle, Gestaltung der Benutzerschnittstellen) zu untersuchen.

Viele der Mobilitätsanwendungen besitzen einen kollaborativen („sozialen“) Aspekt: Die Benutzer sind nicht nur individuelle passive Dienstnutzer, sondern handeln stets in einem sozialen Kontext – zum Beispiel mit Freunden, Familienmitgliedern und Kollegen. In Zeiten des Internets dehnt sich der individuelle soziale Raum immer weiter aus, so dass Meinungen, Empfehlungen, Kritiken und das Verhalten Dritter (siehe z.B. Amazon, Apple App Store) hohen Einfluss auf das eigene Verhalten haben. Daher müssen entsprechende Elemente von Social Media-Anwendungen (Bewertungen, personalisierte Empfehlungen, Feedback-Kanäle, Q&AFunktionen, Nachbarschafts-Tipps) in möglichst einheitlicher und ggf. anwendungsübergreifender Form integriert werden.

TP4.1: Modelle & Werkzeuge für Indoor-Karten
TP4.2: Umwelt-sensitives Verkehrsmanagement
TP4.3: Verkehrsmanagement bei Großereignissen
TP4.4: Kollaborative und soziale Mobilitätsdienste