TP4.2: Eco-Sensitive Traffic Management

Subproject manager
Prof. Dr. Fritz Busch
Subproject manager
Dr. Antonios Tsakarestos
Nihan Celikkaya

Air pollutants, greenhouse gases and noise are three road transportation related emissions that must be reduced due to their direct effects on health and their regional/global impacts on the environment. While air pollutants cause several health problems (e.g. irritations, respiratory or cardiovascular problems and cancer), greenhouse gases cause regional and global problems (e.g. extreme weather conditions, water or food shortages and climate change) [1]. In addition, high noise emissions, which are often ignored, cause health problems such as high blood pressure, sleeping disorders and cardiovascular disease [2].

There are several methods and measures to reduce road transportation related emissions covering different policy fields including planning, regulations, vehicle technologies and traffic operation. One of the policy instruments that focuses on reducing air pollutant emissions is eco-sensitive traffic management (ETM). In Europe, NOx and PM10 are the two major air pollutants to which road transport majorly contribute [3]. Although the average air pollutant emission levels have been decreasing in the last decades, due to new standards and regulations in Europe, the limits defined by European Air Quality Standards and World Health Organization are often exceeded in central urban areas with high traffic volumes and/or congestion (i.e. hotspots) (Figure 1). ETM is a dynamic traffic management application where specific measures are activated due to current and/or projected high air pollution levels for a specific area and for a defined time period [4].

Connected Mobility Ecosystem Explorer
Figure 1: Motivation [5]

Intensive discussions about environmental management of urban traffic began after the second world war with the increase in population as well as car ownership and initially started as planning of access restrictions for certain areas [6]. In time with increasing traffic volumes, shifted importance from safety to environmental issues, increasing awareness and stricter emission regulations static measures became increasingly important and together with the development of intelligent transport systems, it became possible to apply complementary dynamic measures. The state of the art analysis that focused on studies and applications conducted in the last decades in Germany showed that emission generation is mostly influenced by traffic volumes and compositions, although there are several external effects (wind, weather, radiation, building structure,…etc.) that can affect measured emission levels. It also showed that the quality and effectiveness of ETM systems are remarkably affected by the availability of data, aggregation levels and user acceptance [7].

The main objective of the sub-project 4.2 is to develop innovative traffic management scenarios and technologies which are adapted dynamically according to the emission levels in order to reduce road transport related emissions in urban areas. Within this scope, it is important to contribute to the state of the art in eco-sensitive traffic management. Corresponding sub-goals are listed below:
• Enhancement of data availability, to improve the accuracy of emission level assessment and projection,
• Integration of electric vehicles (EVs), which generate zero local exhaust emissions and less noise at low speeds (e.g. in urban areas) into ETM systems and related traffic management measures,
• Consideration of the reduction potential of noise and greenhouse gas emissions in ETM Systems,
• Assessment of the impacts of the increasing share of EVs in traffic composition on emission reduction, as well as evaluation of the possible effects of EV related ETM measures on promotion of electric mobility.
Connected Mobility Ecosystem Explorer
Figure 2: New components to be integrated in ETM

The main working steps of the project are in line with the generic approach of the eco-sensitive traffic management. However, in accordance with the listed objectives, two new major components will be integrated in ETM systems (Figure 2). New emission detection technologies will be used for data collection, model development and calibration. On the other hand, electric vehicles will be taken into account in traffic and emission estimations as well as measure development. Landshuter Allee and its surrounding area is selected for the use case due to high emission levels and existence of already installed measurement stations.

The subproject is currently in the data collection and model building process. If you would like to get more information about this subproject, please contact Nihan Celikkaya (

[1] IPCC (2014). Climate Change 2014: Synthesis Report: Contribution of Working Groups I,II and III to Fifth Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). Geneva.
[2] WHO (2011). Burden of Disease from Environmental Noise – Quantification of Healthy Life Years Lost in Europe. Copenhagen: World Health Organization.
[3] Dora, C., Jamie, H., Pierpaolo, M., & Elaine, F. (2011). Urban Transport and Health: Revised October 2009. Sustainable Transport: A sourcebook for policymakers in developing cities. Eschborn: GIZ
[4] FGSV (2014). Wirkung von Maßnahmen zur Umweltbelastung Teil 3: Umweltsensitives Verkehrsmanagement (UVM), Zwischenstand. FGSV Forschungsgesellschaft für Straßen und Verkehrswesen.
[5] Own Figure adapted from Lutz, M. stated in Air Quality Plan of City of Munich, 2004
[6] McKee, W.A. & Mattingly, M.J. Transportation (1977) 6:365. Environmental Traffic Management — The End of the Road?
[7] Celikkaya, N., Papapanagiotou, E., Busch, F., Use Case: Eco-Sensitive Traffic Management (2016) In State of the Art Report, TUM Living Lab Connected Mobility (pp.172-186).

TP4.2: Umweltsensitives Verkehrsmanagement

Teilprojektleitung
Prof. Dr. Fritz Busch
Teilprojektleitung
Dr. Antonios Tsakarestos
Bearbeiter
Nihan Celikkaya


Schadstoffe, Treibhausgase und Lärm sind die drei Emissionen der Straßenverkehr, die wegen ihrer direkten gesundheitlichen Effekte und regional/global Auswirkungen auf Umwelt reduziert werden müssen. Während Schadstoffe unterschiedliche Gesundheitsprobleme (z.B. Irritationen, Atem- und Herz-Kreislauf-Probleme, Krebs) verursachen, haben die Treibhausgase regionale und globale Auswirkungen (z.B. extreme Wetterbedingungen, Nahrungs- und Trinkwasserknappheit und Klimawandel) [1]. Außerdem lösen die Lärmemissionen, welche oft ignoriert werden, gesundheitliche Probleme wie Bluthochdruck, Schlafstörungen und Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen aus [2].

Für die Reduktion der Schadstoffe des Straßenverkehrs sind mehrere Methoden und Maßnahmen denkbar, welche unterschiedliche Einflussbereiche wie Planung, Regelungen, Fahrzeugtechnik und Verkehrsbetrieb abdeckt. Eines der Instrumente zur Reduzierung von Schadstoffen des Straßenverkehrs in urbanen Räumen fokussiert ist das umweltsensitive Verkehrsmanagement (UVM). Dies betrifft insbesondere NOx and PM10, welches die zwei Schadstoffe sind, die der Straßenverkehr in Europa hauptsächlich hervorruft [3]. Obwohl die durchschnittlichen Emissionen in den letzten Jahrzehnten wegen neuer Standards und Regelungen reduziert worden sind, wurden die Emissionsgrenzen, die vom European Air Quality Standards und Weltgesundheitsorganisation definiert wurden, in urbanen Zentren mit hoher Verkehrsbelastung oder vielen Stau (sogenannte Hotspots) oft überschritten (Abbildung 1). UVM ist eine Anwendung des dynamischen Verkehrsmanagements bei der unterschiedliche Maßnahmen in Abhängigkeit der aktuellen und/oder prognostizierten Luftbelastung für einen definierten Bereich und für einen bestimmten Zeitraum aktiviert werden [4].

Connected Mobility Ecosystem Explorer
Abbildung 1: Motivation [5]

Intensive Diskussionen über Umweltaspekte im Verkehrsbereich wurden begannen erstmals nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg im Zusammenhang mit zunehmender Bevölkerung sowie wachsendem Autobesitz und anfangs wurden durch Verkehrsbeschränkungen für bestimmte Gebiete umgesetzt [6]. Im Laufe der Zeit mit zunehmender Verkehrsstärke, der Verschiebung der Gewichtung von Sicherheitsprobleme hin zu Umweltproblemen, dem zunehmendem Umweltbewusstsein und strengeren gesetzlichen Regelungen sind umweltbezogene Verkehrsmanagementmaßnahmen immer wichtiger geworden. Mit der Entwicklung von intelligenten Verkehrssystemen wurde es möglich, dynamischen Maßnahmen umzusetzen, um die statischen Maßnahmen zu unterstützen. Die Analyse des Stands der Technik, die Studien und Anwendungen in Deutschland in den letzten Jahrzehnten berücksichtigt, hat gezeigt, dass die Erzeugung von Emissionen maßgeblich durch die Verkehrsstärke und -zusammensetzung beeinflusst wird, obwohl es zahlreiche externe Effekte (z.B. Temperatur, Radiation, Wind, bebaute Umgebung, …usw.) gibt, die die Konzentrationen und Messungen beeinflussen können. Außerdem zeigen die Studien, dass die Qualität und Wirksamkeit der UVM-Anwendungen durch Datenverfügbarkeit, Aggregationsebenen und Nutzerakzeptanz entscheidend beeinträchtigt werden [7].

Das Hauptziel dieses Teil-Projektes ist die Entwicklung von innovativen Szenarien und Technologien zum Verkehrsmanagement, die in Abhängigkeit von Emissionswerten dynamisch adaptiert werden können, um die Emissionen des Straßenverkehrs in urbanen Räumen zu reduzieren. In diesem Zusammenhang ist es wichtig zur Verbesserung des Stands der Technik im UVM beizutragen. Entsprechende Teilziele sind:
• Verbesserung der Datenverfügbarkeit zur Erhöhung der Genauigkeit der Bewertung und der Prognose der Emissionen,
• Integration der elektrifizierten Fahrzeuge, die keine lokale Abgasemissionen, weniger Lärm bei niedrigeren Geschwindigkeiten (z.B. in urbanen Räume) erzeugen, in UVM-Anwendungen,
• Berücksichtigung der Reduktionspotenziale für Lärm und Treibhausgase in UVM-Systemen,
• Beurteilung der Auswirkungen des steigernden Anteils der E-Fahrzeuge in der Verkehrszusammensetzung auf die Emissionsreduktion, sowie die Bewertung der möglichen Effekte der E-Fahrzeug-bezogenen Maßnahmen auf die Förderung der Elektromobilität.
Connected Mobility Ecosystem Explorer
Abbildung 2: Neue Bestandteile, die im UVM integriert werden

Die Hauptarbeitsschritte des Projekts sind im Einklang mit dem generischen Ansatz des umweltsensitiven Verkehrsmanagements. Jedoch, gemäß den gelisteten Zielen, werden zwei neue Bestandteile in die UVM-Anwendungen integriert (Abbildung 2). Neue Emissionsdetektionstechnologien werden für die Datenerfassung sowie Modellentwicklung und -kalibrierung genutzt. Auf der anderen Seite werden Elektrofahrzeuge in der Verkehrs- und Emissionsabschätzung sowie in der Maßnahmenentwicklung berücksichtigt werden. Für diesen Use Case wird aufgrund der hohen Emissionen und der Verfügbarkeit vorhandener Messstationen die Landshuter Allee und ihre Umgebung gewählt.

Derzeit befindet sich das Projekt in der Phase der Datensammlung und der Modellbildung. Für weitere Informationen und Rückfragen kontaktieren Sie Nihan Celikkaya (nihan.celikkaya@tum.de).

Quellen
[1] IPCC (2014). Climate Change 2014: Synthesis Report: Contribution of Working Groups I,II and III to Fifth Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). Geneva.
[2] WHO (2011). Burden of Disease from Environmental Noise – Quantification of Healthy Life Years Lost in Europe. Copenhagen: World Health Organization.
[3] Dora, C., Jamie, H., Pierpaolo, M., & Elaine, F. (2011). Urban Transport and Health: Revised October 2009. Sustainable Transport: A sourcebook for policymakers in developing cities. Eschborn: GIZ
[4] FGSV (2014). Wirkung von Maßnahmen zur Umweltbelastung Teil 3: Umweltsensitives Verkehrsmanagement (UVM), Zwischenstand. FGSV Forschungsgesellschaft für Straßen und Verkehrswesen.
[5] Eigene Darstellung in Anlehnung an Lutz, M. zitiert nach Luftreinhalteplan für die Stadt München, 2004
[6] McKee, W.A. & Mattingly, M.J. Transportation (1977) 6:365. Environmental Traffic Management — The End of the Road?
[7] Celikkaya, N., Papapanagiotou, E., Busch, F., Use Case: Eco-Sensitive Traffic Management (2016) In State of the Art Report, TUM Living Lab Connected Mobility (pp.172-186).